Walkin’ Machines 1

walker-drawing.jpg

In the distant future an ancient race of Space Elves has perfected anti-grav flight and dimensional travel, but they still have to walk to work for some reason. This is an early drawing of a Games Workshop Eldar War Walker, and I thought they were pretty cool. Some people said, “Isn’t the pilot too exposed?” Nah, there’s a force-field thingy protecting him. The newer versions of these do have canopies, but I prefer the more exposed look of the older version. I built and painted one 20 years ago, and built another that sat in a box for two decades. I also recently picked up one of the newer models, with no canopy so it was marked way down, which is fine because I didn’t want the canopy.

white-test-red.jpg

The one in the center is the first one from 20 years ago, the left is also from twenty years ago, the right is more recent. I approach vehicle painting much the same way I do figures, but I get to use a bigger brush most of the time. The areas on the models that have had white dry-brushed over them will be painted red, the black areas are a reminder to me to paint them in metals. The one on the left has had a leg test-painted in “Khorne Red”, which I guess is supposed to look like blood? It looks to me like Rose colored lipstick, but I’m color blind so who knows? The tone seems okay though and the paint is thick enough that it only needs one coat for good coverage.

The next step is to paint things that are farthest away; with figures it’s usually skin, unless they have exposed bones or organs, in the case of the walkers it is the pilot’s chairs.

brown

Since my brush has to reach past the pilot to get those areas it’s best to do them now so I don’t screw up the paint job on the pilot. Next I went through and hit all of the brass areas; joints, engines, guns, controls, etc. I really like the dirty gold look of the P3 brand “Dirty Brass”, it’s perfect for a lot of details.brass.jpg

Next up is to see how well the brass and red look next to each other.

Leave a Reply

